owl house: restaurant review

IMG_3223[1]

I finally got to try out the Owl House with some friends last night. It’s a restaurant offering local, seasonal food, and caters to people with specific dietary needs like vegetarians, vegans and Gluten Free. It’s situated in a corner of a popular street in Rochester, NY and has been around since 2010. The menu changes several times a year based on foods in season.

The restaurant itself is so quaint and is located in an old, Victorian house.

IMG_3206[1]

IMG_3208[1]

I’ve heard great things about the place so I’ve been wanting to try it for a while and am so glad I did. I will definitely be back. Because I’m vegetarian they had a lot of foods that catered specifically to me. I had such a hard time deciding what I wanted because each dish is so unique with different foods and flavors you wouldn’t expect.

IMG_3212[1]

My friend order the Vegan Mac n’ More.
Flour City Noodles, House Secret Sauce, Broccoli, Bok Choy, Crispy Quinoa Crust, Mini Field Green Salad

It was amazing and had a unique smoky flavor. I bet any meat lover would still love this even though it’s vegan.

IMG_3213[1]

Second friend had The Loaf.
Applewood Bacon Wrapped Meatloaf, Sautéed Winter Greens, Maple, Mustard, Bourbon Baked Beans

She said it was great. Sounds so flavorful!

IMG_3215[1]

And, finally, I had the SaladBoy salad.
Shaved Brussels Sprouts, Kale, Lemon Vinaigrette, Crispy Quinoa, Horseradish Aioli

I took the picture after I already started eating, oops.

IMG_3221[1]

I can’t wait to go back here and try something different next time.

During our dinner, we even got a surprise show! A guy living in the house next door must not have realized his drapes were sheer and he was rocking out hard in his bathroom … butt naked.

We got a good laugh, although I do feel bad for him! Somehow we were the only ones in the restaurant who saw it all happen!

Food 5/5
Price 4/5
Experience 4/5

Leave a Reply

