public market day

I wrote a couple days ago about farmer’s markets and how they’re awesome for so many reasons. But today I’ll write about the most epic farmer’s market in town: the Rochester Public Market.

IMG_3231[1]

It’s one of my favorite places in the city for several reasons.

1. Cheap produce
2. Mostly local foods in addition to produce like baked goods, syrups, honey, meat, yogurt, cheese, nuts, flowers
3. Great food and coffee
4. Fun environment
5. It’s colorful — especially colorful and pretty in the Fall pre-Halloween. Definitely my favorite time to go.

IMG_3233[1]

IMG_3237[1]

IMG_3239[1]

IMG_3257[1]

IMG_3254[1]

I make an effort to go nearly every Saturday morning even if I don't get much. In general I enjoy buying a lot of my produce from other, smaller farmer's markets because it's usually even cheaper, and it's guaranteed local. The Public Market also focuses heavily on local foods, but there's plenty of imported goods -- they're usually easy to spot, and they're still cheaper than your standard grocery store!

Today I got
Pineapple (obviously not local) $2
4-5 medium sweet potatoes $2
5 lemons $1
2 cucumbers $1

Since it's prime Apple season, I usually get those but I got a bunch on Thursday at the farmer's market so I was all set!

IMG_3235[1]

IMG_3241[1]

Today I noticed a new Donut stand. They looked and smelled amazing.

IMG_3261[1]

IMG_3262[1]

IMG_3267[1]

Plus, there's an abundance of coffee/bakery stands and shops.

IMG_3269[1]

IMG_3270[1]

Later in the day I treated myself to the holiday 2013 Starbucks Buy One, Get One Free Deal.

Starbucks BOGO

I got an iced Skinny Peppermint Mocha with 2 pumps of peppermint and 2 pumps of mocha. Normally they put 4 pumps of each flavor in a Grande! WAY too much for me so I cut it in half. I think it tastes great still.

Because it was BOGO, the Barista was nice enough to make one iced for me now and one (without ice) for later.

IMG_3277[1]

Leave a Reply

